Tuesday, February 15, 2011



  • The Haveli is "U" shaped in plan, with two oblong wings running parallel to each other and the residential palace located perpendicularly in the middle. The main building resembles 18th-century European palaces. A unique feature of this palace is the world's longest wardrode, built in two levels with a hand-cranked wooden lift(elevator) in place. This occupies the entire length of one wing of the palace.

  • To one side of this sprawling palace is the wardrobe hall which is 240 feet in length. This two-storied wardrobe has 130 cupboards and changing rooms. Made from a single log of teakwood, it is stated to be the world's largest continuous wardrobe system.

  •   Mahboob Ali Khan, who loved the good things of life, had a fascination for clothes. He had a collection of garments that could be the envy of the most over-dressed woman in the world. Sherwanis, shirts, coats, collars, socks, shoes, headgear, walking sticks, perfumes — all by the dozen.

  • There are special compartments in the wardrobe to hold shoes and shoeshine equipment.

  • There is an account about how Mahboob Ali Khan once ordered the entire textile stock from a Kolkata firm to be acquired as he did not want any other person to wear similar clothes. His Highness wanted western-type suits to be stitched. A few months later some 70 or so suits arrived, but by then the Nizam had lost interest in them. He gave away the boxes to his nobles. 



  •  Purani Haveli is a palace located in Hyderabad, India. It was the official residence of the Nizam. It was also known as Haveli Khadeem, which means old mansion, was constructed for Sikander Jah, Asaf Jah III (1803-1829) by his father Ali Khan Bahadur, Asaf Jah II.

  • Purani Haveli was originally intended to serve as the residence of Mir Momen, the Peshwa (Prime Minister) of Mohammed Quli Qutub Shah in the late 16th century. It came into the possession of Nizam III in the 18th century. He had first decided to refurbish it to act as the quarters of his son Sikandar Jah. When Sikandar Jah made up his mind to shift to the Khilaurat complex, this place acquired the nickname of Purani Haveli.

  • In 1777 AD, this property was transferred when Nawab Mir Nizam Ali Khan, Nizam II, acquired the Haveli from Mir Alam who was a descendant of Mir Momin, the original owner. Later this property was hierarchically passed on to Nizam III in the eighteenth century. Nizam III's son Sikandar Jah relocated this haveli to the Khilaurat complex and since then it came to be known as Purani Haveli.

  • The most extraordinary feature of this mansion is that there is a hand-cranked lift that is made of wood and embraces the full length of one wing of the palace.

  • The two enormous courtyards are flanked by rooms and intricate balconies with European vaults. Some rooms of the Purani Haveli have mosaic floors and tiled walls that have still not been damaged by the ravages of time. The old building also houses antique furniture that are of great historical value. Apart from this there is also a library and a museum that houses a collection of gifts acquired by the Nizam. 




  • Taramati is said to have seen her heydays as a royal mistress during the reign of Abdullah Qutb Shah and the last King of Golconda, Abul Hasan Tana Shah, roughly from 1626 to 1687.

  • Another fable tells of two ravishing dancing girls, Taramati and Premamati, sisters who danced on ropes tied between their pavilion and the balcony of the king and patron, Abdulla Qutub Shah.

  • Taramati makes for a lovely day trip with the family, as it can be rounded off with a trip to Golconda fort, which is just fifteen minutes away, a heritage structure with a fascinating history. Visitors can also end it with a sound and light show that describes the history and royalty of those bygone eras.

  • About half a mile north of the fort itself lies his grave amid a cluster of carved royal tombs. Here lie buried the Qutub Shahi kings and queens in what once their rose gardens.As a tribute to Taramati and Premamati, they both were buried in the royal cemetery of the Qutub Shahi kings.

  • The Taramati of today has had a makeover: many amenities have been added without losing the original spirit of the place. An amphi-theatre with the capacity to seat more than a thousand people, a restaurant and bar, banquet hall and ample parking space are all at the foot of the original Baradari, which can be reached by ascending a flight of stairs.